AHA Data Oddities #9 & #10

AHAers,

I find these ‘data oddities’ while going through the data and seeing something that catches my eye. Typically my first instinct is that I have a typo in one of my formulas causing the model to pull the wrong number. Almost every time it ends up being a ‘data oddity’ where it’s either a weird ‘glitch’ in the AHA.com data or it’s simply just a unique, record-setting, stat. Below I have examples of each.

(9.) How many shots can a team get in 1 game?

  • The record is 118 shots by the Yetis (Women Upper Division) in Game #7138 on November 9th 2015. Their 2nd period shots of 42 is the AHA record for most shots in a period.
  • Not to make fun, but at first I thought this was a glitch in my formulas, and then I thought perhaps it’s a typo by the scorekeeper. Upon further review, it appears to be a legit shot domination by the Yetis.
  • Though the Women’s division is known for a lot less parity than other divisions of AHA, this match-up might have been extra unfair as the Yetis are in the Upper Division, and their opponent, Blacktop Betties, are in the Lower Division.
  • Interesting enough the previous record was also a Women’s Division game. It was the Wolf Pack in Game #5851 against the Saints on January 19th 2015 with 95 shots.

(10.) Non-Unique Jersey Numbers

  • Jersey numbers can switch from season to season, but usually every team will have a unique number for each player.
  • Apparently this is not the case for every team. I found multiple teams where more than one player has the same number. I was surprised to see it occur even in Fall League. It could be a typo, could be guys are fighting over the same number, could be unique circumstances. Either way, below are two examples from this current season:
    • Hooligans C3 – M. Farwell #33 and my summer teammate, N. Goltz #33
      • You can see an example of this in Game #7675 where Golz scores two goals, and Farwell is in net, both with #33.
      • I’ll have to ask Goltz if he or Farwell actually scored the goal in Game #7789. It’s pretty rare for a goalie to score a goal, especially a non-empty net, and one where there’s two assists.
    • Fighting Loons D1 – K. Short #98 and their captain, E. Rattner #98
      • Rattner has only played 2 games so far this season, while Short has played in 7, but Game #7478 is an example where you can see them both listed in the attendance.

Until next time,

– Anderson (#27)

Leave a Comment